Interview with Evan Schwartz, former student at A Step in Time, presently studying at Julliard

url

Evan Schwartz, former student at A Step in Time Dance, now studying at Julliard, shares some insight into the life of a dancer, his experiences at A Step in Time and his goals for the future.

N: How has A Step in Time influenced you as a dancer?

E: It was my foundation as a dancer. My experiences at A Step in Time were what propelled me forward as a performer.  It provided me with the training necessary to get accepted into LACHSA (Los Angeles County High School of Arts) and then from there, get accepted into Julliard.

N: What are some of your favorite memories at A Step in Time?

E: There are too many to count. Every class was filled with really great times with friends. We really worked hard and grew together. Some classes and experiences were more difficult than others but I learned to stick with it and enjoy every part of it.

N: Tell us about your experiences at Julliard?

E: In the beginning, it  was really crazy because you realize that everyone you are studying with was the best performer of their class in their hometown. Now, we are like one big family, we all work together and really support one another both personally and professionally.

N: Where do you see yourself in the future?

E: After Julliard, I am particularly interested in joining and touring with a company, preferably  in Europe, if possible. I traveled to Europe as a child and I am very taken by their culture. Later in my career I would like to go back to school for my master’s degree and teach at a university.

N: Do you have any advice for parents who have children interested in dancing?

E:  Don’t put any pressure on them, just support them and allow them the freedom to enjoy all of their experiences. I am very thankful that I had the opportunity to dance, there are many kids who are unable to take classes or don’t have the support needed. Parents, just let your kids enjoy it and have fun!

Leave a Reply

